WHO ARE WE AND WHAT WE DO ?

A little before Christmas 2020, publications on social media about a little boy for whom time was very limited because of his fatal disease, were shocking. Joanna and Aline are both mothers with children about the same age as this little boy. They decided to make donations and tensely followed this race against time. Finally, just after Christmas, the dream became reality and Maciek had raised the 2.1 USD necessary for the Zolgensma treatment. This amazing news was shortly followed by the announcement that the transfusion had been completed on 6 January 2021. His mother, Ewelina, was overjoyed.

The relief was shortly lived. After doing some research on the website that organized the crowdfunding, it became apparent that dozens of other parents were in the same situation. Whereas some virtual piggy banks were increasing steadily, and would achieve their objective before it was too late (the weight limit is 13.5 Kg in Poland, and 21 Kg in Germany), others were not budging.

It was in these mixed feelings of hope and despair that Joanna and Aline decided to combine their efforts and create a structure in Switzerland that would bring help to all children like Maciek.

Today, they work together in Switzerland to raise the necessary funds for the treatment of children affected by SMA, and to relieve families who live in a state of agonizing uncertainty. They do this through donation campaigns. By mounting an association, they hope to bring the issue into public awareness.

un-couple-de-rebecquois-se-mobilise-pour

À propos de SMA Warriors

Un peu avant Noël 2020, quelques publications sur les réseaux sociaux concernant un petit garçon blond dont le temps était compté en raison de sa maladie mortelle étaient bouleversantes. Joanna et Aline, toutes deux mamans de petits garçons de l'âge du bébé malade, ont fait des dons et ont suivi le coeur serré cette course contre la montre. Finalement, juste après Noël, le miracle s'est produit : Maciek avait récolté les 2'000'000 de francs nécèssaires à son traitement au Zolgensma. Cette merveilleuse nouvelle a été suivie d'une annonce de la transfusion le 6 janvier 2021 en Pologne. Quel bonheur pour Ewelina, sa maman!
 

Joie de courte durée : un peu de curiosité sur le site qui gérait le crowfunding a été le coup d'arrêt car des dizaines d'autres enfants étaient dans la même situation que Maciek. Et alors que certaines cagnottes augmentaient régulièrement et dans les temps par rapport aux limites imposées par le traitement (poids limite à 13,5 kg en Pologne, 21kg en Allemagne), d'autres ne bougeaient pas d'un poil!

 

C'est dans ces sentiments mélangés d'espoir et de révolte que Joanna et Aline se sont mises en relation sur les réseaux sociaux pour allier leurs forces et créer une structure en Suisse qui puisse soutenir tous les enfants comme Maciek.

Aujourd'hui, elles se battent en Suisse pour récolter les fonds nécessaires au traitement des enfants atteints de SMA et soulager les familles qui vivent dans l'angoisse, à travers des actions de dons, de la communication et la mise en place d'une association pour sensibiliser le grand public.

un-couple-de-rebecquois-se-mobilise-pour